Kentucky Arts Council News Release Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet

September 25, 2008                              Contact: Ed Lawrence
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                  502-564-3757 ext. 473

Arts Council Commissions Duffy to Create Awards for Governor's Awards in the Arts

FRANKFORT, KY — The recipients of the 2007-2008 Governor's Awards in the Arts, will each receive a sculpture carved by Louisville artist William M. Duffy. Governor Steve Beshear will present the awards at a public ceremony and celebration on Wednesday, October 1, 2008, at 10:00 a.m. in the Capitol Rotunda in Frankfort.

William Duffy (who prefers to be called Duffy) was born and raised in Louisville. Always having a special talent for painting and drawing, Duffy graduated from the Louisville School of Art with a B.F.A. in painting. Learning from books and experimentation, Duffy taught himself to carve in stone. After receiving numerous sculpture awards, he began working as a full-time sculptor in 1980. His figurative and abstract sculptures have won over 30 purchase or merit awards and his work can be found in private, corporate and public collections throughout the United States.

The sculptures entitled "Upward Glance," are figurative works carved in steatite on marble bases, commissioned by the Kentucky Arts Council.

The Governor's Awards in the Arts recipients are selected in nine different categories, with the Milner Award being the most prestigious and the first, which was established by the Kentucky Arts Council in 1978, after the late B. Hudson Milner.

Owsley Brown II is the 2007-2008 recipient of the Milner Award, which recognizes outstanding individual commitment to the arts and their role in the economy, community and culture of Kentucky.

Suzan-Lori Parks, a playwright born in Ft. Knox, Kentucky will receive the National Award in recognition of her artistic achievement reaching national acclaim.

Vince DiMartino will receive the Artist Award for lifetime achievement in the arts.

John Timmons and ear X-tacy will receive the Business Award for outstanding support of the arts and artists in Kentucky.

Kentucky Repertory Theatre will receive the Community Arts Award for significant contributions to Horse Cave and the surrounding region.

Julie Ann White will receive the Education Award to recognize her significant contributions to arts education in Owensboro and for the Kentucky Department of Education.

Cowan Community Action Group will receive the Folk Heritage Award for its role in promoting and conserving Kentucky's traditional arts.

City of Covington will receive the Government Award for its significant support of the arts through economic development and historic preservation programs.

Charlie Hughes, founder of Wind Publications and publisher of "Kentucky Literary Newsletter," will receive the Media Award for his commitment to bringing the arts to the attention of the public.

The Kentucky Arts Council is a state agency in the Tourism, Arts and Heritage Cabinet that creates opportunities for Kentuckians to value, participate in and benefit from the arts. Kentucky Arts Council funding is provided by the Kentucky General Assembly and the National Endowment for the Arts, which believes that a great nation deserves great art.